Thousand Dollar Daze Online Contest Entry Click Here

Zac Brown Band Sells Out Irvine Meadows Amphitheatre [Setlist]

The Zac Brown Band brought their “Black Out the Sun” Tour to Irvine Meadows Amphitheatre to a sold-out crowd Saturday night.

And although ZBB earned that sold-out show, audience members who did not arrive in time for the opening act missed out on one of the most exciting newcomers on the country scene. After having spent the morning volunteering with the Red Cross to install smoke detectors in people’s homes, and thanks to his soulful performance and effortless crooning and signature stomping, opening act Drake White held the crowd in the palm of his hand for the duration of his entire set, which included his current single “Livin’ the Dream,” and a song written for his wife, “Making Me Look Good Again.”

The Zac Brown Band’s set was so lengthy, they had to divide it into two acts, with a ten-minute intermission. Mindful of their philanthropy, a portion of ticket sales went to Camp Southern Ground, which seeks to allow children with social, academic, and emotional difficulties to go to camp.

Aided significantly by the virtuosic musicianship of his band (particularly that of John Driskell Hopkins, who performed Alan Jackson’s part in “As She’s Walking Away”, Clay Cook, Coy Bowles, fiddle player Jimmy De Martini, and background vocalist Maureen Murphy), Zac’s set relied very little on spectacle or between-song banter; instead, the songs were the star of the show.

The Zac Brown Band’s wide array of influences were evident in their multitude of cover songs – from The Who to Prince to Frank Sinatra – and in the music from their latest album, which includes the EDM-influenced “Beautiful Drug,” and the reggae-inspired “Castaway.”

But audience favorites like “Toes,” “Keep Me In Mind,” the passionate performance of “Colder Weather,” and especially their salute to the military (which was met with overwhelming applause from the audience) during their career song “Chicken Fried,” served as a reminder that the Zac Brown Band will always remain primarily rooted in country music.



Drake White:

  1. Heartbeat
  2. Everybody’s Got a Story
  3. The Equator
  4. Making Me Look Good Again
  5. With a Little Help from My Friends (Beatles cover)
  6. Back to Free
  7. Livin’ the Dream
  8. It Feels Good

Zac Brown Band

  1. Whiskey’s Gone
  2. Knee Deep
  3. Homegrown
  4. As She’s Walking Away (with John Driskell Hopkins)
  5. Castaway
  6. Remedy
  7. Hotel California (Eagles cover)
  8. Sweet Annie
  9. The Muse
  10. I’ll Be Your Man (Song for a Daughter)
  11. Beautiful Drug
  12. Baba O’Riley (The Who cover)
  13. Bittersweet
  14. Keep Me In Mind
  15. S.O.B. (Nathaniel Rateliff cover)
  16. Tomorrow Never Comes
  17. Toes
  18. Let’s Go Crazy (Prince cover)
  19. The Way You Look Tonight (Frank Sinatra cover)
  20. Colder Weather
  21. Chicken Fried
More from Pepper

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From K-FROG 95.1 FM and 92.9 FM - New Country

Listen to Anywhere, Anytime
Introducing Your New Podcast Network

Listen Live