Thousand Dollar Daze Online Contest Entry Click Here

Jennifer Nettles of Sugarland Sells Out Wilson Creek Winery in Temecula [Setlist]

Every artist who plays Wilson Creek Winery in Temecula comments on the stunning beauty of the venue, and Jennifer Nettles, who sold out Sunday night’s concert (June 12th) was no exception.

Best known for being the lead singer of Sugarland (which is on hiatus while Jennifer and musical partner Kristian Bush work on solo projects), Jennifer’s set was heavy on songs from her latest solo album Playing with Fire, but also included enough Sugarland songs to please even those not familiar with her solo work.

Also sprinkled into her set was “Moneyball” from her previous album That Girl, and a cover of Bruce Springsteen’s “I’m on Fire.”

A surprise came during her song, “Sugar,” which included an excerpt of Salt-n-Pepa’s “Shoop,” prompting Jennifer to exclaim, “You weren’t expecting that, were you?!”

At one point during the show, an audience member handed Jennifer a glass of wine, leading her to explain that drinking red is unusual for her, “Because by the end of the night, I’ll be Captain Purple Teeth, but we’re at a winery, so we’re all gonna be Captain Purple Teeth!”

(Side note: Go with the almond champagne, and you can avoid becoming Captain Purple Teeth.)

There’s nothing like hearing the warble of Jennifer’s voice live, and several songs allowed her to showcase her powerhouse vocals, particularly “Stupid Girl” (from Playing with Fire), and her latest single “Unlove You,” packed an emotional punch.

The intensity of the show started to crest with “Who Says You Can’t Go Home” (recorded as a duet with Jon Bon Jovi), which had many audience members out of their seats dancing, and anyone who wasn’t already standing up for the concert’s peak, Sugarland’s “Something More.”

Jennifer returned for an encore with another Sugarland song, the heartwrenching and ultimately empowering “Stay.” A brief reprise of “Playing With Fire” ensured the show ended on an energetic note.



  1. Playing with Fire
  2. Baby Girl
  3. Drunk In Heels
  4. Moneyball
  5. Hey Heartbreak
  6. Stupid Girl
  7. Want To
  8. Chaser
  9. Unlove You
  10. Sugar
  11. Way Back Home
  12. Salvation Works
  13. I’m On Fire (Bruce Springsteen cover)
  14. Who Says You Can’t Go Home
  15. Something More
  16. Stay
  17. Playing with Fire (reprise)


More from Pepper

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From K-FROG 95.1 FM and 92.9 FM - New Country

Listen to Anywhere, Anytime
Introducing Your New Podcast Network

Listen Live