New California Laws You Need To Be Aware of in 2017

California is all about the “New Year, New Me” slogan for 2017 as 898 new laws are now in effect.

Although all of these new laws are important, here are 17 that could affect you in the new year:

Assault weapons: Californians who own gun magazines with more than 10 rounds are required to give them up starting July 1. Read the full law here.

Businesses and EpiPens: Businesses may stock EpiPens in case there is a need to treat people suffering from life-threatening allergic reactions. Read the full law here.

Cellphones use while driving: Californians may no longer use a wireless electronic device while driving, unless the device is mounted on the vehicle windshield or dashboard. Read the full law here.

Drinking at barber shops/salons: Now in 2017, beauty salons and barber shops will be allowed to serve free wine or beer to their clients until 10 p.m. Read the full law here.

Gender-neutral bathrooms: Starting on March 1, all single-user toilet facilities in any business or public place must become all-gender facilities. Read the full law here.

Homeless students at community college: Community college campuses must allow homeless students who are enrolled, paid and in good standing to use the facilities. Read the full law here.

Human trafficking: People under 18 years old will not be charged with prostitution, rather, they will be treated as victims. Read the full law here.

Law enforcement officers’ handgun storage: Law enforcement officers must securely store handguns in a lockbox out of plain view or in the trunk if weapons are left unattended in a vehicle. Read the full law here.

Motorcycle lane splitting: This law will allow the California Highway Patrol to develop guidelines in a way that ensures the safety of motorcyclists, drivers and passengers. Read the full law here.

Minimum wage: California’s minimum wage will increase from $10 an hour to $10.50 an hour. It will jump to $15 an hour in 2022. Read the full law here.

Powdered alcohol: Booze in a powdered form will be illegal to possess, sell, make or use. Read the full law here.

Right-to-die: Terminally ill patients in California will be allowed to use experimental drugs, to decide when they want to end their lives. Read the full law here.

School mascots: Beginning Jan. 1, California public schools will be banned from using the name “Redskins” for sports teams and mascots. Read the full law here.

Sexual assault clarification: Sexually assaulting an unconscious or severely intoxicated person will become a crime ineligible for probation. Read the full law here.

Vehicle registration fee: Beginning April 1, this law increases the vehicle registration fee on every vehicle or trailer coach from $43 to $53. Read the full law here.

Youth sports health protocol: Youth sports teams must notify the parents or guardians of athletes younger than 17 years old who have been removed from activity because of a suspected concussion. Read the full law here.

More from Anthony Donatelli
Comments

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live